Young Cinema

Journey into your imagination and expedition through autumn into winter with classic adventures, spooky stories and festive frolics - a selection of extraordinary escapades for all the family!

SATURDAY CLUB

At 12pm, families can take part in fun activities at the Showroom, from creating your own characters to making music for silent films.

This is an hour’s activity before the Saturday Club family film at 1pm, and is free to attend for those watching the film.

£6.50 for under 15s (includes activity, packed lunch and 1pm movie) only bookable on 0114 275 7727 or in person at the box office

£4 for accompanying adults to watch the film.

£4 children's film only tickets can be booked online

Please note that all children attending Saturday club must be accompanied by a parent or guardian at all times. Thank you.

KiCSTART

Each month the Showroom runs a special screening for children with autism and their families. The cinema environment is altered to provide a low sensory experience - the film does not need subtitles and is shown with the sound reduced and the house lights on low. Everybody is free to make noise and move around.

There is also a special quiet room, which is available for the duration of the film.

Please contact laura.hegarty@showroomworkstation.org.uk for more information.



Upcoming films & events

bfg
The BFG (PG)
The exciting tale of a young London girl named Sophie (played by British newcomer Ruby Barnhill) and the mysterious Giant - The BFG (played by Oscar Winner Mark Rylance) who introduces her to the wonders and perils of Giant Country.
  • Tue 26 Jul
  • 18.00
  • 20.30
  • Wed 27 Jul
  • 13.00
  • 15.30
  • 18.00
  • 20.30
  • Thu 28 Jul
  • 13.00
  • 15.30
  • 18.00
  • 20.30
James and the Giant Peach
James and the Giant Peach (U)
James’ happy life at the English seaside is abruptly ended when his parents are killed by a rogue rhinoceros and he goes to live with his two horrid aunts.
  • Wed 27 Jul
  • 12.00
  • Thu 28 Jul
  • 12.00
Willy Wonka
Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory (U)
Five lucky children find a Golden Ticket and win a tour around Willy Wonka's mysterious Chocolate Factory.
  • Fri 29 Jul
  • 12.00
  • Sat 30 Jul
  • 12.00
  • Sun 31 Jul
  • 12.00
  • Mon 1 Aug
  • 12.00
  • Tue 2 Aug
  • 12.00
  • Wed 3 Aug
  • 12.00
  • Thu 4 Aug
  • 12.00
fantastic mr fox
Fantastic Mr. Fox (PG)
Wily and audacious Mr. Fox loses his tail to the loathsome trio of exploitative farmers, Boggis, Bunce and Bean, one fat, one short, one lean.
  • Fri 5 Aug
  • 12.00
  • Sat 6 Aug
  • 12.00
  • Sun 7 Aug
  • 12.00
  • Mon 8 Aug
  • 12.00
  • Tue 9 Aug
  • 12.00
  • Wed 10 Aug
  • 12.00
  • Thu 11 Aug
  • 12.00
porco rosso
Porco Rosso (PG)
In early 1930s Italy air pirates, bounty hunters and high fliers of all sorts rule the skies. The most cunning and skilled of these is Porco Rosso, a former ace cursed to look like a pig after his squadron was mysteriously wiped out.
  • Fri 12 Aug
  • 12.00
  • Sat 13 Aug
  • 12.00
  • Sun 14 Aug
  • 12.00
  • Mon 15 Aug
  • 12.00
  • Tue 16 Aug
  • 12.00
  • Wed 17 Aug
  • 12.00
  • Thu 18 Aug
  • 12.00
Matilda
Matilda (PG)
"Matilda’s books transported her into new worlds and introduced her to amazing people who lived exciting lives." The classic film adaptation of the beloved Roald Dahl novel.
  • Fri 19 Aug
  • 12.00
  • Sat 20 Aug
  • 12.00
  • Sun 21 Aug
  • 12.00
  • Mon 22 Aug
  • 12.00
  • Tue 23 Aug
  • 12.00
  • Wed 24 Aug
  • 12.00
  • Thu 25 Aug
  • 12.00
The Witches
The Witches (PG)
On his summer holiday, Luke discovers that witches don't just exist in fairytales... they're right there in his hotel!
  • Fri 26 Aug
  • 12.00
  • Sat 27 Aug
  • 12.00
  • Sun 28 Aug
  • 12.00
  • Mon 29 Aug
  • 12.00
  • Tue 30 Aug
  • 12.00
  • Wed 31 Aug
  • 12.00
  • Thu 1 Sep
  • 12.00

Explore

Sign up for email news and listings

We use cookies to help us provide you with a better service, but do not track anything that can be used to personally identify you.

If you prefer us not to set these cookies, please visit our Cookie Settings page or continue browsing our site to accept them.