Black History Month: Black British Identity on Screen

This Black History Month, we’re presenting a season of films exploring what it means to be Black and British. Celebrate the cultural legacy of Black British people, with fantastic films exploring the ways that Black British identities have evolved and adapted under the social and political pressures of life in the UK. Delve into some uniquely personal stories told through three generations of filmmakers, from the cultural icons that paved the way, to the voices of tomorrow.

Alongside the films, look out for filmmaker Q&As, discussions and talks lead by local movers and shakers, special industry sessions for budding creative talent and even the odd party in the bar.

Get a notification when new films are scheduled

Upcoming films & events

The Last Tree
The Last Tree 15
This heartfelt, semi-autobiographical drama offers a deeply honest exploration of masculinity, identity and Britishness through the eyes of a black teenager.
  • Fri 27 Sep
  • 13.10
  • 18.10
  • Sat 28 Sep
  • 15.40
  • 20.40
  • Sun 29 Sep
  • 12.20
  • 21.00
  • Mon 30 Sep
  • 15.40
  • 20.40
  • Tue 1 Oct
  • 13.10
  • 18.10
  • Wed 2 Oct
  • 20.40
  • Thu 3 Oct
  • 18.15
  • Tue 15 Oct
  • 16.00
  • Wed 16 Oct
  • 13.30
  • Thu 17 Oct
  • 11.20
  • 13.35
HeroF-Rated
Hero: Inspired by the Extraordinary Life & Times of Ulric Cross + Q&A 12A
The story of Ulric Cross, who left his small island home in 1941 to seek his fortune, and became the RAF’s most decorated West Indian.
  • Tue 8 Oct
  • 18.00
f
Farming 18
Based on writer director Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje’s own experience, Farming is the uniquely personal, deeply heartfelt film about one boy’s struggle with identity and internalised racism.
  • Fri 11 Oct
  • 18.20
  • 20.45
  • Tue 15 Oct
  • 18.20
  • 20.45
  • Wed 16 Oct
  • 18.20
  • 20.45
  • Thu 17 Oct
  • 18.20
  • 20.45
burningF-Rated
Burning an Illusion + Q&A 15
This ground-breaking film charts the political awakening of a young Black woman who has had enough of her job, her boyfriend and Thatcher’s Britain.
  • Tue 22 Oct
  • 18.15
handsworth songs
Doc/Nights: Handsworth Songs + Intro 15
A richly-layered documentary representing the hopes and dreams of post-war black British people in the light of the civil disturbances of the 1980s.
  • Mon 28 Oct
  • 18.15
The ArrivalF-Rated
New Black Voices: Shorts 18
A curated selection of short films, showcasing the ones-to-watch in Black British film, with filmmakers and the BFI sharing insights on how to break into the industry.
  • Sat 2 Nov
  • 15.00
BritishnessF-Rated
Britishness U
In this thoughtful, locally made documentary, Eelyn Lee and a group of young writers from Sheffield go on a quest to find out the meaning of Britishness.
  • Thu 21 Nov
  • 18.00

Explore

We use cookies to help us provide you with a better service, but do not track anything that can be used to personally identify you.

If you prefer us not to set these cookies, please visit our Cookie Settings page or continue browsing our site to accept them.