Gleaning Truths: The Films of Agnes Varda

Who Is Agnès Varda?

Artist, feminist and filmmaker extraordinaire. Grandmother of the French New Wave. A deeply thoughtful and vibrantly playful creator, Agnès Varda is all of these things. 64 years since her first film hit cinemas and alongside the release of her latest film, we celebrate the bountiful and beautiful career of one of cinema’s greatest treasures.

The dawn of the French New Wave (La Nouvelle Vague) came about with the arrival of new technologies. Lighter, portable cameras allowed new and inspired young filmmakers to pick up a camera and shoot, creating films for a fraction of the cost of studio pictures: a democratisation of the film industry.  A forerunner of this movement was Agnès Varda’s debut – La Pointe Courte. Its creation, and her liberated, expressive style of filmmaking could draw comparisons to current independent filmmakers, like Sean Baker picking up an iPhone and exploding onto the festival circuit with Tangerine.

Varda’s body of work continues to be bold and bright. She often steps in front of the camera, reflecting on herself as much as she does the world around her. Her films are uniquely personal and her soul shines brightly through each. A self-dubbed ‘joyful feminist’ Varda’s work mixes her politics with all of the fun and laughter of life.

Our season presents eight of Agnès Varda’s most beloved films from Curzon Artificial Eye’s national retrospective ‘Gleaning Truths’. In the year of her Honorary Oscar, we are celebrating and shining light on of one of cinema history’s most influential female filmmakers: a trailblazer of French cinema and a truly delightful character.

Upcoming films & events

VagabondTriple F-Rated
Vagabond (15)
French
Vagabond is an exquisitely crafted, heart-breaking and timely story of a defiant drifter existing on the fringes of society: a life lived in mystery.
  • Thu 20 Sep
  • 20.30
Faces, PlacesTriple F-Rated
Faces Places (12A)
French
At 90 years old, after a ten-year hiatus, Varda returned to her cameras and created this Oscar nominated documentary, a film that is as expressive and free as her very first film.
  • Fri 21 Sep
  • 18.15
  • Sat 22 Sep
  • 15.30
  • Sun 23 Sep
  • 15.30
  • Mon 24 Sep
  • 13.40
  • Tue 25 Sep
  • 18.15
  • Wed 26 Sep
  • 18.15
  • Thu 27 Sep
  • 15.30
One Sings The Other Doesn'tTriple F-Rated
One Sings The Other Doesn't (12A)
French
When Agnès Varda made One Sings, the Other Doesn’t in 1977, abortion was only two years legal in France – thanks to the Veil law, for which Varda herself had taken to the streets
  • Sun 30 Sep
  • 15.30
  • Mon 1 Oct
  • 18.15
  • Thu 4 Oct
  • 20.30
La Pointe Courte Triple F-Rated
La Pointe Courte (PG)
French
In her first feature, Varda’s hallmarks begin to show themselves; powerful realism, social comment and intoxicating visual flair.
  • Sun 7 Oct
  • 15.30
  • Mon 8 Oct
  • 18.15
  • Thu 11 Oct
  • 20.30
Le BonheurTriple F-Rated
Le Bonheur (15)
French
Young François leads a happy life, spending long days in his carpentry shop and peaceful evenings at home with his wife and children. Their relationship is simple and uncomplicated, until one day François falls helplessly in love with a postal worker.
  • Sun 14 Oct
  • 15.30
  • Mon 15 Oct
  • 18.15
  • Thu 18 Oct
  • 20.30
Jacquot de NantesF-Rated
Jacqout De Nantes (PG)
French
Jacques Demy was a prestigious filmmaker, another trailblazer of the French New Wave and Agnès Varda’s life partner. In 1990, he died, and in celebration of his life Varda created Jacquot de Nantes
  • Sun 21 Oct
  • 15.30
  • Mon 22 Oct
  • 18.15
  • Thu 25 Oct
  • 20.30
The Gleaners and I Triple F-Rated
The Gleaners and I (PG)
French
An intriguing documentary feature about seeing and discovering, collecting and treasuring.
  • Sun 28 Oct
  • 15.30
  • Mon 29 Oct
  • 18.15
  • Thu 1 Nov
  • 20.30
Beaches of Agnes Triple F-Rated
Beaches Of Agnes (18)
French
In this autobiographical documentary, Varda bounds through her own history: her life, her loves and her art.
  • Sun 4 Nov
  • 15.30
  • Mon 5 Nov
  • 18.15
  • Thu 8 Nov
  • 20.30

Explore

We use cookies to help us provide you with a better service, but do not track anything that can be used to personally identify you.

If you prefer us not to set these cookies, please visit our Cookie Settings page or continue browsing our site to accept them.